American poet and professor Janet Kaplan judging the Melita Hume Prize 2019!

November 10, 2019

American poet and professor Janet Kaplan judging the Melita Hume Prize 2019!

The Melita Hume Poetry Prize is an annual poetry publication award for an original, first full-length collection by a poet aged thirty-five years or under, resident in the UK or Ireland, or of British or Irish citizenship, writing in the English language.

Previous years’ winners include Caleb Klaces for Bottled Air, Marion McCready for Tree Language, Amy Blakemore for Humbert Summer, Maria Apichella for Psalmody, Tony Chan for Four Points Fourteen Lines, Jenna Clake for Fortune Cookie, Rebecca Close for valid, virtual, vegetable reality and Jessica Mayhew for Longship.

The winner will receive full book publication by Eyewear Publishing LTD in 2020, and a prize advance of £2,000.

Submissions are NOW open currently here.

The winner will be announced and published in 2020.

The final judge for the Melita Hume Prize this year is the American poet Janet Kaplan. The fee to submit to the prize is ten pounds, in order to allow for wider participation. The aim of the prize is to support younger emerging writers during difficult economic times.

About the Judge Janet Kaplan (born 1958) is an American poet and professor. She is the author of three books: The Groundnote (Alice James Books, 1997), The Glazier’s County, winner of the 2003 Poets Out Loud Prize from Fordham University Press, and Dreamlife of the Philanthropist: Prose Poems & Prose Sonnets, winner of the 2011 Ernest Sandeen Prize (University of Notre Dame Press). Her honors include fellowships at Yaddo, The Virginia Center for Creative Arts, and the Ragdale Foundation in Illinois. She has received the Bronx Council on the Arts’ BRIO award for Excellence in Poetry and a New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship in Poetry.

In 2011, her limited edition chapbook, Ascending Descending (BroBroo Books), was adapted to the opera in a soprano song cycle by Martin Hennessy. Kaplan attended Lehman College and Columbia University. She earned her MFA from Sarah Lawrence College. For several years, Kaplan worked as Poet in Residence at Fordham University. She currently teaches poetry and creative writing at Hofstra University, where she edits AMP, a national digital literary magazine whose inaugural issue went live in 2016. She is founder of Red Glass Books, a small press with titles from Kate Greenstreet, Edwin Torres, Margaret Diehl, and Patricia Spears Jones, among others.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.