2017 is not the time to blink

Eyewear's Submission Opportunities for 2017

Posted by on

January 6—LONDON 

Eyewear Publishing LTD is pleased to announce its 2017 submission opportunities for poets and writers. For full guidelines, codes of ethics, and further information, visit www.eyewearpublishing.com or Eyewear's Submittable page.

The Sexton Prize

The Sexton Prize is an annual publication award with a $1,000 honorarium for an outstanding new collection of poetry by an American poet at any career stage. The winning manuscript is published, distributed, and marketed by Eyewear Publishing LTD in both the United States and the United Kingdom simultaneously. The previous winner of The Sexton Prize (2016) - SELECTED BY Final Judge DON SHARE-  is Rebecca Gayle Howell for American Purgatory

Submissions open January 6 and close April 2. 

The final judge for the 2017 Sexton Prize is PROFESSOR KIMIKO HAHN.

Kimiko Hahn is the author of nine books of poems, including: Brain Fever (W.W. Norton, 2014) and Toxic Flora (WWN, 2010), both collections inspired by science; The Narrow Road to the Interior (WWN, 2006) a collection that takes its title from Basho’s famous poetic journal; The Unbearable Heart (Kaya, 1996), which received an American Book Award; Earshot (Hanging Loose Press, 1992), which was awarded the Theodore Roethke Memorial Poetry Prize and an Association of Asian American Studies Literature Award. Hahn takes pleasure in the challenges of collaboration, most recently with Lauren Henkin’s photographic series. Honors include a Guggenheim Fellowship, PEN/Voelcker Award, Shelley Memorial Prize, a Lila Wallace-Reader's Digest Writers' Award as well as fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts. She is a distinguished professor in the MFA Program in Creative Writing & Literary Translation at Queens College, The City University of New York.

photo credit: Beowulf Sheehan

The fee to submit to The Sexton Prize is $25.


The Melita Hume Poetry Prize

The Melita Hume Poetry Prize is an annual poetry publication award with a £1,000 honorarium for an original, first full-length collection by a poet under 35 years of age, resident in the UK or Ireland, writing in the English language. Previous years’ winners include Caleb Klaces for Bottled Air, Marion McCready for Tree Language, Amy Blakemore for Humbert Summer, Maria Apichella for Psalmody, Tony Chan for Four Points Fourteen Lines, and Jenna Clake for Fortune Cookie.

Submissions open January 6 and close April 2. 

The final judge for the 2017 Melita Hume Poetry Prize is Vahni Capildeo.


Vahni Capildeo is a British Trinidadian writer. Her published books are No Traveller Returns, Person Animal Figure, Undraining Sea (shortlisted for the Guyana Prize for Literature Caribbean Award), All Your Houses (a limited-edition artist’s book with photometry by Andre Bagoo), Dark & Unaccustomed Words (longlisted for the 2013 OCM Bocas Poetry Prize), Utter, Simple Complex Shapes, and Measures of Expatriation (winner of the Forward Best Collection Prize). She read English at Christ Church, Oxford and subsequently became a Rhodes Scholar there, completing a DPhil in Old Norse and translation theory, which overlapped with her Research Fellowship at Girton College, Cambridge. She was the first poet on tour for the Out of Bounds poetry project, is a contributing editor for the Caribbean Review of Books, and a contributing advisor to Blackbox Manifold.

The fee to submit to the Melita Hume Poetry Prize is £20.00


The Best New British and Irish Poets 2018

The Best New British and Irish Poets competition collects fifty poems from the fifty best new poets writing in the English language in the UK and Ireland. The final fifty poems will be published in The Best New British and Irish Poets in spring of 2018. 

Submissions open 2 April and close 15 September. 

The judge for the 2018 Best New British and Irish Poets competition is Maggie Smith.


Maggie Smith is the author of the forthcoming Weep Up, The Well Speaks of Its Own Poison, Lamp of the Body, and three prizewinning pamphlets. Her poems have appeared in The Paris Review, The Southern Review, Magma, Waxwing, Virginia Quarterly Review, Guernica, and many other journals. The recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Ohio Arts Council, and the Sustainable Arts Foundation, Smith is a freelance writer and editor, and she serves as a consulting editor to the Kenyon Review. Her poem ‘Good Bones’ was a global phenomenon in 2016.

The fee to submit to The Best New British and Irish Poets is £10.00


The Beverly Series

Original, previously unpublished manuscripts of any genre, written in the English language, that are ineligible for submission to the Hume and Sexton Prizes are welcomed for consideration in The Beverly Series. The series acknowledges an outstanding work of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, or criticism by an author of any nationality and any career stage. The work of one or more authors will be selected from open readings in the 2017 series. Eyewear Publishing LTD will announce its selection in the first week of January, 2018. The previous winner of The Beverly Series is Sohini Basak for We Live in the Newness of Small Differences.

Submissions remain open until 15 September, 2017. 

The final judge for the 2017 Beverly Series is Todd Swift, Director of Eyewear Publishing LTD. 

Dr Todd Swift is a British-Canadian expert on modern and contemporary poetry, and has been editing poetry collections for over 20 years. He has been a university teacher working with BA, MA and PhD students, in Budapest, London, and Glasgow. He is the editor or co-editor of numerous global anthologies, including Carcanet’s Modern Canadian Poets. He is author of nine full collections of poetry, including Seaway: New & Selected Poems, from Salmon, Ireland. His Selected Poems was published in 2014 by Marick Press, USA. His poems have appeared in many leading journals in America, Australia, Britain, Canada and Ireland. He was Oxfam GB’s poet-in-residence, based in Marylebone, 2004-2012. He will be Visiting Scholar/Writer-in-Residence, Pembroke College, University of Cambridge, England, 2017-18.

The fee to submit to the Beverly Series is £20.00


The Lorgnette Pamphlet Series

Building on the success of Eyewear's 2015 Michael Marks Publishers’ Award-shortlisted 20/20 Pamphlet series, and our 2016 Aviator Pamphlet series, we are pleased to announce our 2017 Lorgnette Pamphlet Series, selected and edited by Todd Swift. Eyewear will select and publish 20 limited-edition pamphlets from this open reading period. All poets working in the English language are welcome to submit original, previously unpublished pamphlets for consideration.

Submissions remain open until 15 September, 2017. 

The fee to submit to The Lorgnette Pamphlet Series is £20.00.

acquisitions best new british and irish poets beverly melita hume news open readings poetry publication sexton submissions

← Older Post Newer Post →

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published