The Black Spring Eyewear Publishing Group
Cart 0

News — acquisitions


acquisitions announcement news poetry prize publication Smart prize winner

We are delighted to be able to announce the winners of the Christopher Smart Poetry Prize, judged by the respected British poet Mel Pryor. Here is her report below; the winners will be offered contracts and can choose to accept publication and their cash prizes: Christopher Smart Judge’s Report It was a huge pleasure to read the shortlisted entries for the Christopher Smart prize and I discovered many potential winners. The sculpted lyricism, precision, and restrained eroticism of Katherine Fallon’s collection Goldstar haunted me over several readings, and Goldstar is the prize’s runner up. Uche Ogbuji’s collection Ńchéfù Road caught...

Read more →


acquisitions announcement eyewear melita hume news poetry prize winner

Eyewear Publishing is thrilled to announce the results of the Melita Hume Poetry Prize for this year (the prize has been running since 2012). This prestigious international prize recognises the best debut poetry collection from poets aged 35 and under from the UK and Ireland. Winner Jessica Mayhew’s entry Longship earns her £2,000 and a publishing deal with Eyewear and runner up Ellen Viola is awarded £200 for her collection, The Eel, plus an Eyewear publishing contract. Competition judge and award-winning poet Colette Sensier says, ‘I was lucky enough to discover many bright new voices on the Melita Hume shortlist...

Read more →

Black Spring Books Now For Sale At Our Shop!

acquisitions american announcement black spring press britain eyewear london news prose

In November 2017 we learnt of the sad passing of Robert Hastings - the owner of Black Spring Press. Since 1985, Black Spring Press has produced work by Nick Cave, Anaïs Nin, Charles Baudelaire, Kyril Bonfiglioli, Carolyn Cassady and Leonard Cohen, among many impressive others. Black Spring specialises in the contemporary, as well as breathing new life into neglected classics. We are delighted to have completed legal formalities in 2019 to connect Black Spring Press to Eyewear Publishing Ltd. and excited to be able to sell its wonderful books online here and in shops. Browse the collection here!

Read more →

On World Poetry Day We Announce Our Sexton Prize Winners!

acquisitions american announcement eyewear news poetry prize publication sexton Sexton Poetry Prize winner

It is World Poetry Day 21 March, and we take this opportunity to announce the winners of our Sexton Poetry Prize, for the best unpublished poetry collection by an American poet. The prize is now $1,500 USD, and also comes with publication by Eyewear, and distribution in the UK, Ireland and the USA. Our past winners were selected by Don Share and Kimiko Hahn, and in our third year, our judge has been just as distinguished - Pulitzer-winning critic, the poet Professor Lloyd Schwartz. This year our judge has decided to select joint winners, who are happy to accept the...

Read more →


acquisitions announcement eyewear london news prose

Eyewear Publishing Ltd is pleased to announce their acquisition of the significant indie press, Black Spring Press, founded and directed by Robert Hastings, and its entire list of titles. Since 1985, Black Spring Press has produced work by Orson Welles, Nick Cave, Anais Nin, Charles Baudelaire, Patrick Hamilton, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Alexander Baron, Carolyn Cassady, and Leonard Cohen, among other legends. Given Eyewear’s commitment to finding and publishing work by modern, avant-garde, and alternative writers and musicians, the fit is inspired. Sadly, Robert Hastings, the much-admired force behind the press, died in late 2017. Eyewear will continue the list he fostered...

Read more →