News / beverly

  • Eyewear acquires new essay collection by Gwen Goodkin

    Eyewear Publishing is pleased to announce the acquisition of Mass for the Shut Ins, a new essay collection by American writer Gwen Goodkin. Mass for the Shut Ins takes readers through the difficult terrain of loss and grief in the absence of faith. Through essays written by the author, letters written by her father and a letter they wrote together decades ago, Goodkin discovers the magic of life that connects us all.

    Goodkin lives in Encinitas, California. She earned her MFA in Creative Writing from the University of British Columbia. Her essays and stories have been published by The Dublin Review, Fiction, Witness, The Carolina Quarterly, Atticus Review, jmww, Exposition Review, The Rumpus, Reed Magazine and others. She has twice been nominated for a Pushcart Prize and has won the Folio Editor's Prize as well as the John Steinbeck Award for Fiction. Goodkin writes for the screen and stage and is a member of the Dramatists Guild. Her website is:

    Goodkin’s manuscript was a finalist for this year’s Beverly Prize. Eyewear will release Mass for the Shut Ins in early 2019.

  • Richard Georges Will Judge the 2018 Beverly Prize for Eyewear!

    Eyewear Publishing is honoured to have Richard Georges as the 2018 judge for one of the most eclectic and international of new literary prizes, which we offer, the Beverly Prize, now in its third year.

    Richard Georges is a writer, editor, and lecturer in the British Virgin Islands. His poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Prelude, Smartish Pace, Barrelhouse, The Caribbean Writer, The Puritan, The Poetry Review, WILDNESS, Wasafiri, decomP, The Rusty Toque, Baldhip, Susumba, Under the Radar, sx salon, those that this, Reservoir, L’Ephemere Review, Cordite Poetry Review, The 2018 Forward Book of Poetry and elsewhere. Richard is the author of the poetry collections Make Us All Islands (Shearsman Books) and GIANT (Platypus Press).

    He is the recipient of the 2016 Marvin E. Williams Literary Prize from The Caribbean Writer, and has been shortlisted for The Wasafiri New Writing Prize, The Small Axe Literary Prize, The Hollick Arvon Prize for Caribbean Literature, and the Forward Prize for Best First Collection. He holds a BA in English from Texas Christian University, an MA in Creative Writing from Aberystwyth University, and a PhD in Critical and Creative Writing from the University of Sussex. He chairs the Humanities Department at H. Lavity Stoutt Community College and is also a founding editor of Moko, a journal of Caribbean arts and letters.


    David Hale is the winner of the 2018 Beverly Prize, organized by Eyewear Publishing and open to outstanding works of fiction, nonfiction, poetry or criticism, from authors writing in English based anywhere in the world. His collection of poetry, Dancing Under A Bloodless Moon, selected by distinguished Canadian critic and poet, Dr Bruce Meyer, will be published by Eyewear next year. The prize also comes with a £500 advance.

    David Hale (pictured) was born in Scotland, and currently lives in Gloucestershire, where he passes the time by teaching, setting type, looking after horses and making things. He has two pamphlets out, one from Happenstance and another from Templar. This will be his debut collection.

    The judge said of this work: "This is a superb collection of impeccably crafted poems. Hale writes of a world of journeys, mysteriously death-like train travel, in haunting lines that are both melodic and powerfully concrete. I don't think there is a bad line in the entire book. I don't think there is a bad poem in the entire book.

    This is a classic collection that draws the reader in, and that leaves a ghostly and almost ethereal afterglow not only with each poem but with the collection as a whole. This is a book worthy of the Beverly Prize. It is a work of high distinction and incredible artistry."

    The Runner-Up is Yusuf DeLorenzo for his mystery novel set in Algiers. He worked and studied abroad for 25 years in North Africa, the Middle East, and the Indian subcontinent. On returning to Fez, Morocco, the last functional medieval city in the world, he began thinking of North Africa as the ideal setting for a sleuth in the midst of the Barbary Pirates. He is presently at work on the seventh book in the series, the first of which placed second in the Royal Palms Literary Awards of the Florida Writers Association.

    The Beverly Prize is unusual for its range and scope, and its large shortlists - this year the winner competed against 17 other shortlisted authors from around the world to win. Last year's winner, Sohini Basak, lives in India, and will be in London on July 5th to launch her debut, at the London Review Bookshop. 

    The prize is named after Beverly Swift, a Quebec-born lawyer and academic, whose passion for books, sense of humour, and compassion for animals, was widely known. She died of cancer over a decade ago and this prize memorialises her.

  • Sohini Basak wins the 2016 Beverly Series Prize

    January 3—LONDON 

    Eyewear Publishing LTD is pleased to announce that Sohini Basak, of Barrackpore, India, is the winner of the 2016 Beverly Series for her debut collection of poetry, We Live in the Newness of Small Differences.

    The 2016 Beverley Series was open to original manuscripts in any genre by any writer working in the English language. The series received a wide range of submissions from writers both emerging and established, in over thirteen countries, writing memoir, poetry, short stories, novels, and experimental forms. Kelly Davio, Eyewear’s Senior Editor and the final judge for the 2016 Beverly Series, selected We Live in the Newness of Small Differences from a pool of fourteen finalists determined by Eyewear’s editorial team of judges, Oliver Jones, Rosanna Hildyard, and Todd Swift.

    Davio had this to say of the selection process:

    ‘With such a range of worthy manuscripts from which to select, I had a challenging job in selecting a winner for The Beverly Series. Ultimately, I had to rely on what surprised me, what delighted me, what made me forget that I was judging a competition and allowed me to immerse myself in a fully realized work. Sohini Basak’s We Live in the Newness of Small Differences is all of those things. It’s an impressive collection with a controlled voice, an attention to musicality, a beautiful execution of the craft, and a playful sense of the elasticity and possibility of the line. I have no doubt that this book’s publication will mark the emergence of a powerful new voice in the poetry world, and I’m proud that we at Eyewear have the opportunity to bring this work to the reading public.’

    Basak’s poetry and fiction have appeared in journals including 3: AM Magazine, Out of Print, Suburban Review, Missing Slate, Ambit, Lighthouse, Ofi Press, Helter Skelter, and Paris Lit Up, as well as in print anthologies of Emma Press and Poetrywala. She won second prize at the inaugural RædLeaf India Poetry Prize in 2013 and was shortlisted for the Melita Hume and the Jane Martin poetry prizes in 2014. She was a 2015-2016 fellow of The (Great) Indian Poetry Collective.

    Basak studied literature and creative writing at the universities of Delhi, Warwick, and East Anglia, where she was awarded the Malcolm Bradbury continuation grant for poetry. She is a social media manager for the translation journal Asymptote. She grew up in Barrackpore and currently lives in Delhi.

    Eyewear will publish We Live in the Newness of Small Differences in 2018. To reserve an advance review copy, contact