The Black Spring Eyewear Publishing Group
Cart 0

News — prize

Our Judge Selects The International Beverly Prize Winner!

announcement beverly eyewear news poetry prize prose publication winner

Our distinguished judge Niall Bourke offers his extraordinarily generous and engaged comments on all the shortlisted authors' works, and announces his selected winner (Randy Osborne, pictured here). The winner will be offered a publishing contract with Eyewear, and a meaningful cash advance. Judge's Report: How does one judge the ‘best’ book? By how serious it is or by how funny? By the complexity of its metaphors or the clarity of its prose? How about, as in the case of the Beverly Prize, if we judge a 3,000 word poetry collection against a 156,000 word novel? By what criteria might we...

Read more →


announcement beverly news prize publication

The world has few pan-genre manuscript contests for unpublished work, and the International Beverly Prize is one of them. Last year's winner was British poet David Hale, and the year before, Sohini Basak, a poet from India. The year of the prize is dated from the submission period, not year of publication. Here is this year's iteration of 11 outstanding shortlisted authors - who will win? Final Judge Niall Bourke will decide soon! Stephen Haven won the 2011 New American Prize for his poetry collection, The Last Sacred Place in North America. He has two previous collections of poems, Dust...

Read more →


acquisitions announcement news poetry prize publication Smart prize winner

We are delighted to be able to announce the winners of the Christopher Smart Poetry Prize, judged by the respected British poet Mel Pryor. Here is her report below; the winners will be offered contracts and can choose to accept publication and their cash prizes: Christopher Smart Judge’s Report It was a huge pleasure to read the shortlisted entries for the Christopher Smart prize and I discovered many potential winners. The sculpted lyricism, precision, and restrained eroticism of Katherine Fallon’s collection Goldstar haunted me over several readings, and Goldstar is the prize’s runner up. Uche Ogbuji’s collection Ńchéfù Road caught...

Read more →

Brilliant American Poet Terese Svoboda Judging the 2020 Sexton Prize!

american announcement eyewear news poetry prize sexton Sexton Poetry Prize

The Sexton Prize is an annual publication award now with a $2,000 prize for an outstanding new collection of poetry by an American poet. The winning manuscript will be published by Eyewear Publishing LTD in the United Kingdom, and distributed in both the United States and the United Kingdom and Ireland, simultaneously in 2020. The final judge for the 2020 Sexton Prize is the prize-winning American poet Terese Svoboda. Terese Svoboda is a poet, fiction writer, biographer and memoirist. Her poetry collections include When the Next Big War Blows Down the Valley: Selected and New Poems (Anhinga Press, 2015), Treason...

Read more →


acquisitions announcement eyewear melita hume news poetry prize winner

Eyewear Publishing is thrilled to announce the results of the Melita Hume Poetry Prize for this year (the prize has been running since 2012). This prestigious international prize recognises the best debut poetry collection from poets aged 35 and under from the UK and Ireland. Winner Jessica Mayhew’s entry Longship earns her £2,000 and a publishing deal with Eyewear and runner up Ellen Viola is awarded £200 for her collection, The Eel, plus an Eyewear publishing contract. Competition judge and award-winning poet Colette Sensier says, ‘I was lucky enough to discover many bright new voices on the Melita Hume shortlist...

Read more →