2017 is not the time to blink

Melita Hume Prize 2017

The Melita Hume Poetry Prize

is an annual poetry publication award for an original, first full-length collection by a poet aged thirty-five or under, resident in the UK or Ireland, or of British or Irish citizenship, writing in the English language.

Previous years’ winners include Caleb Klaces for Bottled Air, Marion McCready for Tree Language, Amy Blakemore for Humbert Summer, Maria Apichella for Psalmody, Tony Chan for Four Points Fourteen Lines, and Jenna Clake for Fortune Cookie.

The winner will receive publication by Eyewear Publishing LTD and an honorarium of £1,500. 

Submissions are open until 31 AUGUST, 2017. The winner will be announced in October 2017.

The fee to submit to the prize is £20.00.

The final judge for the Melita Hume Poetry Prize is Vahni Capildeo.


About The Judge

Vahni Capildeo is a British Trinidadian writer. Her critically-acclaimed books are No Traveller Returns (2003), Person Animal Figure (2005), Undraining Sea (2009) (shortlisted for the Guyana Prize for Literature Caribbean Award), All Your Houses (2010) (a limited-edition artist’s book with photometry by Andre Bagoo), Dark & Unaccustomed Words (2012) (longlisted for the 2013 OCM Bocas Poetry Prize), Utter (2013), Simple Complex Shapes (2015), and Measures of Expatriation (2016) (winner of the Forward Best Collection Prize). She read English at Christ Church, Oxford and subsequently became a Rhodes Scholar there, completing a DPhil in Old Norse and translation theory, which overlapped with her Research Fellowship at Girton College, Cambridge. She was the first poet on tour for the Out of Bounds poetry project, is a contributing editor for the Caribbean Review of Books, and a contributing advisor to Blackbox Manifold. Her performance and installation work, begun during her Judith E. Wilson Poetry Fellowship (2014), includes responses to Euripides' Bacchae, 'Radical Shakespeare', and the revolutionary Guyanese writer Martin Carter. 


• Submissions must be made via Eyewear Publishing LTD’s Submittable page before 31 August, 2017. The fee to submit is £20.

• Manuscripts must be original work, between 48 and 100 pages in length, by a single author, in the English language. There are no restrictions on style or subject matter. The Eyewear staff encourage writers from diverse backgrounds to submit their work. 

• Individual poems in the submission may have been previously published online, in periodicals, or in chapbooks, but the collection as a whole must not have been previously published (self publishing constitutes prior publication).

• Submissions should be made without the inclusion of an acknowledgments page.


The Melita Hume Prize is open to poets who have not previously published—and are not under contract to publish—a full-length collection of poems. Writers under the age of 35, or 35 at time of entry, resident in the UK or Ireland, or of British or Irish citizenship, are eligible to submit.

Code of Ethics

• All entries will be screened by the Eyewear Publishing LTD staff; we will not use interns to screen submissions.

• The Final Judge of The 2017 Melita Hume Poetry Prize is Vahni CapildeoEmployees, family members, and current students of the final judge are not eligible to submit to The Melita Hume Prize.

• The prize honours Melita Hume, a book collector and compiler of poems and information about many authors.